Spray Painted Vinyl Chair

21 Mar

Way back in September when I wrapped up my entryway tree, I plunged into a little DIY project that went along with that update – I spray painted a vinyl chair.  Yep.  You heard read that right. I would have never thought of giving a chair a facelift with spray paint (a dresser or end table, yes…) until I stumbled upon this blog post on Little Green Notebook that completely opened my eyes to a whole new world of spray painting options!

I’ve had these two blue, vinyl club chairs for a few years now.  I love them.  They are well made and comfortable to sit in, but I’ve always thought that I’d reupholster them – they are a shade of blue that’s neither modern nor funky enough to really look as good as they could otherwise, they’re just kind of dull and blah.  So I dove in without a second thought and gave one of them a cool new hue… green… sea-foam green… Krylon’s “Catalina Mist” to be exact:


I went on ahead and bought a can of clear spray enamel to use as a finishing coat as well since the Catalina Mist did not come in a spray that indicated it would bond to plastic (as per the DIY instructions I was going by on Little Green Notebook) which is key in making this project work – IF YOU WANT TO SPRAY PAINT VINYL AND HAVE IT STICK, YOU MUST USE SPRAY PAINT THAT BONDS TO PLASTIC.

The process was pretty simple. I just gave the chair a good cleaning with a degreaser, wrapped the legs in trash bags and taped them off, and then just went to town spray painting:





It feels completely smooth to the touch as if the vinyl itself was sea foam green all along🙂

Thanks for looking!

6 Responses to “Spray Painted Vinyl Chair”

  1. makingfreckles March 21, 2014 at 8:18 pm #

    Perfect! That colour is gorgeous!

  2. Trenice February 22, 2015 at 11:17 am #

    Hi there THANK YOU FOR THIS😀 I do have one question, did you have to treat the newly spray painted chairs with anything to prevent the color rubbing off on to clothes?

    • applesforolive February 22, 2015 at 10:53 pm #

      HI back! No, as long as you use a spray paint that says it’s for plastic, there is no need to worry about it rubbing off on you🙂

  3. Natasha December 19, 2015 at 10:31 pm #

    Now that you used these chairs for a while, how are they wearing? I’m wanting to spray dining chairs but am worried about wear.

    • applesforolive December 20, 2015 at 2:13 pm #

      Hi! Thank you for your inquiry! As a matter of fact, I was just thinking the other day that I might have to update the paint on this chair. It is showing signs of wear, and crackling in some places. But with that said, I did not follow the original bloggers recommendation of using only spray paint that says “for plastic” on the container (I was torn between following the exact instructions and using the exact paint color I wanted). So, I am definitely going to use the right type of spray paint this next go round, one that says it’s for plastic. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

