Enryway Closet – Pretty Patchwork Wallpaper and Paint

12 May

The entryway closet has gotten a bit of an organization overhaul over the past couple of weeks, but in the midst of all my efforts at making things more functional, I got the hankering to apply some visually appealing components in there as well. Que the wallpaper and paint!

This was one of those I’m-feeling-kinda-crazy-creative-and-want-to-do-something-about-it-right-now moments that serendipitously worked out alongside the other closet projects I had going on without me even having to buy anything or leave the house to get it done.  I already had all the supplies on hand, all I needed was to get to a-movin’ and a-shakin’! So I grabbed a variety of “scrap” paints (leftover paint samples from the green room and $3.00 oops paint from Lowes) to mix a pale shade of green, and then got to painting:

20120511-120007.jpg

I painted the lower section of the back of the closet wall with the green paint I just mixed, then painted the 2×4 running across the back of the closet, just above that lower section, coral (leftover paint from this closet painting project). It was at that moment that I recalled one of my inspiration (or should I say Pinspiration) photos to figure out just what to do with the upper section of the closet – patchwork wallpaper!

click pic for source via Pinterest

So I gathered the pile of wallpaper samples I had lying around that have yet to be put to use, taped and measured out an area on the kitchen floor the same size as the space within the closet that the wallpaper samples would be going, and then laid out my samples, shifting them around until I came up with a nice, eye-pleasing layout that I was happy with:

20120511-120037.jpg

20120511-120116.jpg

Then I got to gluing them on the wall one-by-one (I used Scotch brand ultra-hold spray adhesive) until the entire upper section of the closet was covered:

20120511-120059.jpg

20120511-120048.jpg

20120511-120345.jpg

And after adding a few accessories, like a mirror, Mr. Rhino, and a three-tier shelf, we were left with this pretty little drop-off zone that I couldn’t be happier to step into every evening when I get home from work and every morning on the way out the door:

20120511-120218.jpg

20120511-120228.jpg

20120511-120237.jpg

20120511-120247.jpg

20120511-120258.jpg

20120511-120308.jpg

It makes me smile!

LINKED TO:blah2beautiful

3 Responses to “Enryway Closet – Pretty Patchwork Wallpaper and Paint”

  1. chihuahua1 May 14, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    LOVE IT!!!!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pet Silhouette Wall Art « Apples for Olive - May 25, 2012

    […] and finally scratch it of the ol’ to-do list, and since I already had wallpaper out from this project, I thought now was as good a time as any to whip out this little task and call ‘er […]

Leave a Reply

