Pressed Flowers Part 1

13 Jul

Now that summer has definitely taken full effect, such things as holidays, vacations, and just plain old summertime hootinanny have taken precedence over the ol’ homestead to-do list, which means things in the DIY and home improvement arenas have been placed on the back burner.  Not to complain so much though, I enjoy having fun in the sun as much as the kids.  And as the weeks have flown by, I am still slowly but surely making headway in both Olive’s room and the entry, but haven’t quite been able to squeeze in enough time between all to summertime hoopla to get things “done.” 

With that said, I have managed to get a few smaller projects underway… one being the preserving of the most beautiful flowers I have ever received in my life (this is not an exaggeration)… my Mother’s Day flowers… yes, I said Mother’s Day.  Which again, yes, I know was over two months ago, but better late than never, right! 

So here is what the gorgeous lovelies looked like in full bloom on the day I received them from Rob:

Just lovely!

I think what I loved so much about them was the plant variation (I think the large pink ones are peonies) and also the bold and pale color-combination in the bouquet.  It also helps that I have a great affinity for wildflowers, so the inclusion of some of those definitely contributed to their eminent fondness.  But after a couple of weeks (they actually stayed looking real purty for longer than I expected) the wilting began and they started to look more like this:

Wop Wop.

But rather than just toss them away, I decided that I would take a stab at preserving the lovely memory of them by pressing them, and then hopefully (if it works) placing them between two pieces of glass, and subsequently framing them.  I say “hopefully” because I can vaguely remember attempting to press flowers as a child and them turning out moldy and unusable.  But I do fondly remember finding flowers that my mother had pressed in some of her books and thinking that I wanted to do that with my very own flowers one day… but enough with all the sentimental stuff…

My flower pressing process was pretty straight forward.  I just cut off the slimy ends of each stem before placing them in between pages of a phonebook (I knew I would one day find a use for all those phone books that somehow end up on my front porch!) :

And after carefully pressing them, being sure to space them far enough apart to hopefully allow the phonebook pages to fully absorb their moisture, I placed them out-of-the-way atop the hutch in the kitchen that houses my plate collection (a project for another day), which so-appropriately supplied me with heavy enough objects to place on top of the phonebook in order to keep everything nice and flat:

So there you have part one of the-pressing-of-the-flowers.  It has probably been six weeks or so since they’ve been up there drying and flattening out, but I more than likely won’t get around to checking them out and beginning on part two of the whole process until well after July has come and gone.  But rest assured, I will be back to share how it all turns out 🙂

And for one last gratuitous, artsy/filtered version of the precious lovelies:

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING!

One Response to “Pressed Flowers Part 1”

  1. rebekah:-) July 28, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    you are right!:-)…they are the most beauty-full flowers ever!:-)

    good luck with your pressing:-)

    thank you for letting us see:-)

    rebekah:-)

Leave a Reply

