Bedroom Progress Part III – The Big Table and Dresser Shift About the House

6 May

This is kind of a “behind the scenes” look at what was happening in conjunction with parts I and II of our bedroom progress.  Let’s recap: in part I, we purged clothing and reorganized Olive’s closet, and in part II, I renewed an old dresser that was in my bedroom and moved it into Olive’s room .  Which brings us to the “final” segment of this whole spring-cleaning-turned-clothing-reorg-turned-furniture-shifting project that has so appropriately been named: The Big Table and Dresser Shift About the House! (I’m trying to make this sound as exciting as possible).

As I mentioned in part I, I purchased a tall seven-drawer dresser from the salvation army a few weeks prior to my embarking upon this task-turned-entire-room-overhaul, which was basically the catalyst to this whole endeavor:

new dresser = clothing purgation/reorganization

&

new furniture = the shifting of old furniture throughout the entire house

Let’s take a quick gander at said new-to-me dresser before getting into the nitty-gritty of all the furniture moving that took place:

I L.O.V.E. this piece of furniture!  It’s tall, slender, and already divided into small sections for easy and effective organization.  It even has smaller sections within two of the drawers which I designated for my less-often used jewelry and glasses collection (no need to share what’s in the other five drawers, just your basic unmentionables, use your imagination… err don’t) :

Ahhhh, serenity.

But before things became all cozy and squared away in the dresser department in my bedroom, a succession of table and dresser shift-arounds throughout the rest of the house ensued.  The “table situation” began in Olive’s room when we had family in town for my brother’s wedding back in March.  Three of  said family members were cousins between the ages of 4 and 9, all of whom spent a lot of time tearing everything  apart playing in Olive’s room, resulting in this:

… and this:

Holy cow, whatamess!!!!

So began the plight for containing, controlling, and organizing everything within the confines of this room, which somehow tailspinned into moving furniture, namely tables, throughout the house.

First, I moved Olive’s cubby-table, (part of the IKEA Stuva series) which contained mostly art supplies, from the less-often used blue/art room into her much-more-often used bedroom where it could serve better as a toy separating and containing unit since she obtained an obscene amount of teansey-tiny little toys for her birthday and Christmas this past December:

Sidenote:  WARNING to all new moms – as your child gets bigger, their toys get smaller.

Looking better already!

Next, I made the executive decision to completely remove the round table since she already has a smaller square table in there, and also since she gained some surface space on the cubby-table that was just brought in.  So out from her bedroom and into the entryway it went:

… and:

Much better indeed!  I really like how the round table pairs perfectly with the round rug.  Where did the white table that was in the entryway go, you ask?  Well into my bedroom of course:

 

Still a work in progress, but much better placed in the bedroom than in the entryway nevertheless.

And last but not least, while I was on a roll,  I moved a shelf/table that was doing nothing more than sitting next to the front door in the blue room holding leftover frames (amongst other things) from this wall of frames project into my bedroom as well:

It’s definitely serving a much better purpose in the bedroom than sitting by the front door that we hardly ever use.

Whew!  All that table and dresser shifting about was kind of a task, but so worth it in the end.  It was actually refreshing to make better use of things that we already had in the house, that’s always a bonus!

Now let’s take a side-by-side look-see at how things were before and how they are now in each of these rooms:

Olive’s room before:

And now:

Entryway before:

And now:

My bedroom before:

And now:

Before:

And now:

And finally before:

And now:

Wow, that’s a lot of photo-info thrown at you all at once, but there were quite a few changes that were made and it was much easier to show than tell about them.   And as you may have noticed in the labeling of “in progress” on some of these pics, things are still-a-changing in both the bedrooms. 

Update:  Olive’s bedroom has recieved even further organization since this post, check out all the details on that right here

Thanks for looking!

6 Responses to “Bedroom Progress Part III – The Big Table and Dresser Shift About the House”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Out With the Old, and In With the … Older (?) « Apples for Olive - May 19, 2011

    […] of happened as a result of my visit to the Salvation Army, the same visit at which I bought my new dresser.  Not only did I buy the new dresser, I bought a new (well new-to-me) sofa as well!!!  And as […]

  2. Thrifty Finds: Cake Plates and Serving Platters « Apples for Olive - June 6, 2011

    […] to the Salvation Army, I took the bags of donations that Rob cleared from his closet (more on that here) to the goodwill donation station in the Albertson’s parking lot near my house, there were […]

  3. Sneak Peek at What I’ve Been Up to Lately « Apples for Olive - June 14, 2011

    […] So, let’s see, we’ll start where we left off in Olive’s room.  Here is how things were looking in her room after the big dresser and table switcheroo that took place in April and in this post: […]

  4. Olive’s Bedroom Progress – Shelfy Business « Apples for Olive - July 27, 2011

    […] rooms in the house got mini-makeovers just by moving around tables that we already owned right here and how I made use of two shelves from different rooms in the house to spiffen up the laundry […]

  5. Olive’s Bedroom Progress « Apples for Olive - July 28, 2011

    […] I did a complete closet overhaul in there and renewed an old dresser for her.  Then in May, I shuffled around some IKEA tables and storage to get a better sense of organization going on.  Most recently, in June and July, I moved her […]

  6. Bedroom Progress Part I – Clothing and Closets and Dressers, oh my! | Apples for Olive - July 8, 2013

    […] anticipation for this purgation I bought a tall, seven drawer dresser from the Salvation Army a couple of weeks prior to all this happening.  After putting the remaining items that […]

Leave a Reply

