DIY: Decorative Baby Hangers

8 Mar

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, “babies inspire me.”  They get my creative sparks flying, as you can see here, here and here.  A long-time friend of mine is having her first, and (YAY!) it’s a girl!!!  So this means pretty, little, pink and frilly things! Love it!

A few weeks back, as I was perusing the local Thrift Town, I came across a bunch of little, wooden baby hangers being sold for 29 cents each.  Wow! So I bought the whole lot (17 total).  That big, jumbled mess below is how they looked in the raw.

And this is how they turned out after laying my crafty hands on them:

Pretty cute, if I do say so myself!  As you can see, I went with two sets of five hangers in two different styles.  One set goes along with the overall theme of the baby’s nursery, which happens to be owls /woodland creatures.  And the second set is more along the lines of shabby-chic / anthropologie-style, which I included mostly because I wanted to experiment with the whole distressing process to gauge my skill level on a small project before diving into a much larger distressing project I have on the project-to-do list (a project post for next month, perhaps – fingers crossed).

Click here for more details on how this whole project went down.

Let me know what you think!

6 Responses to “DIY: Decorative Baby Hangers”

  1. MotherOfPearl March 8, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Love, love, love. These hangers are super cute.

  2. karen @ our slo house March 8, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    OMG, those hangers are so cute. My sister is having a boy in June and I still haven’t ‘done’ anything for her. Hmmm… you’ve got my creative juices flowing. 😉

    • applesforolive March 8, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

      Thank you! “Doing” gifts is always so much more rewarding than just “giving” them!

  3. Kat March 8, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    These are soooo adorable, I love love love them 🙂 This is Avery’s first handmade gift, I plan on finding a way to display them better than just having her frilly dresses on them in the closet. Love you lady, you are amazing!

    • Michael October 26, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      How much would you have been willing to sell the plain hangers for?

      • applesforolive October 30, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

        I found them for something like a quarter each at the thrift store, so probably fifty cents to a dollar …

Leave a Reply

