Less is More Quick Change

18 Feb

This was one of those instances where a quick-fix solution was needed more than a well thought-out plan-of-action.  I removed four cabinet doors from the built-in pantry a few weeks ago just on a whim because I knew I didn’t like looking at all those cabinet doors anymore and I definitely knew I was tired of closing them every time I walked through the kitchen – as you can see the darn things never stay closed!

So I took inventory of everything that was hidden behind each door and came to the conclusion that the above four doors were probably the ones that could stand to be removed the most.  It would keep things symmetrical and also give me space to showcase some of my favorite kitchen kitschy items.  All the other doors are actually functioning purposefully, hiding such things as medicines, brooms, light bulbs, mismatched pots and pans, etc….

So off with the doors:

Ahhh, things are starting to feel more airy already! 

Next I hammered off the middle slat of wood (demolition, woo hoo!) and then spackled over the nail and screw holes and all the other blemishes left behind from the hardware removal:

And voila! Some pretty spacey, open-shelving – nice!  Things like this make me happy, excited – not sure why, they just do.

So now that we’ve been living with the open-shelving for a few weeks, I can say that the kitchen definitely feels more open and less stuffy – crazy how a very small change can make such a big difference.  I’m still debating on whether or not to remove the four bottom doors leaving open-shelving for all the pots and pans and other odds and ends hidden under there, that’s still up in the air.  But what I do know for sure is that a paint color needs to be chosen and those very bland (and dingy-looking) cabinet shelves and doors most definitely need a little TLC paint-lift – maybe a project for this summer?  

Have you made any quick and easy changes around the house that have made a big impact on the surrounding space?  Please do tell!

One Response to “Less is More Quick Change”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things are a Changin’ and a Rearrangin’ (Part 2) « Apples for Olive - September 14, 2011

    […] with this room?  I believe the only photos actually posted on this blog of the kitchen are in this post about removing cabinet doors, which doesn’t really give you a good look at this room in its […]

Leave a Reply

