Wall of Frames

25 Jan

Finally!!!  This project has been bearing on me for I’d say six months or so, and I am absolutely elated to say I am finally done – well sort of done with it (I mean, is anything ever really done?).

Like most DIY projects, they come in a wide range of variations, this one being no exception, so I hit the computer to scour for images and youbetcha I was inspired!  As I mentioned in this post about DIYing up thrifted picture frames, I collected many frames over the summer months from a variety of thrift stores, so the images housed within the frames here are most definitely just temporary.  With that said, let’s take a look at how this project developed over time…

  I’ll call this picture below Phase 1: 

Not too shabby for a straight-to-the-point picture frame collage.  I started by putting the table and lamp in place, then the mirror, and then finally  added some frames. 

Phase 2:

A decent overall shape is developing at this point, but something about it was still not right for me.  I wasn’t too pleased with the symmetry and kind of unriskiness of it all.  It seemed a tad too run-of-the-mill and “grandma’s house,” nothing about it screamed out “CREATIVE!”  So I decided to get a little more bold and just started throwing all sorts of different shaped and sized frames on the wall and ended up with this:

Phase 3:

Aigh, yigh, yigh!  Not good.  This might not look so terribly bad if the frames and/or their content were more cohesive, say matching frames or artwork, but in its current state, I consider this a giant FAIL

So, as a result, I hit the interwebs once again, and lo and behold I stumbled into this blog post on The Sweetsest Digs blog site.  I even went as far as asking them for advice, and to my delight, was given some amazingly encouraging feedback (which you can take a look at right here).  So after taking some of the advice – paint all the frames a single color, bring them down a little, and perhaps  gray instead of white – I hit the ground running and started working on this project right away (like right when I walked in the door after work Friday afternoon) and finally ended up with this:

What an AMAZING difference!!! I almost can’t believe these are the same frames from the before pictures.  I would like to implement some more of the great advice I recieved, such as the utility of additional mirrors and definitely work in some layerying some how, and I still need to add some accessories and figure out how to address the lower part of the wall, but I feel like I can walk away from this project for a while feeling like it is mostly finished – and “mostly finished” is a lovely place to be!

PSST!  This didn’t happen by a simple wave of a wand by any means, you can check out all the details about how this project went down right here.

One Response to “Wall of Frames”

  1. thesweetestdigs January 25, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    Looks amazing!! It really turned out beautifully, and looks so chic. Great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

