Table Painting – Bye Bye Pea-Green

11 Jan

The first of three tables in the house (that I’m 100% certain need a paint job that is) has been painted!!!  Oh what a happy day it is when I can scratch something off my project-to-do-list!  We actually painted it back in the fall, but I’m just now getting around to blogging about it.  I’m hoping to paint the round table in Olive’s room within the next month or two, so stay tuned for a post on that… and as far as table number three, ummmmm, who knows?

Here’s the before of the thrifted table that my thriftaholic mother (yes, I have found that such addictions are hereditary) traded me in exchange for a new pub table that I bought from Hobby Lobby – a fair trade in my opinion:

It was such a beautiful shade of pea-green that went superbly well with the orange living room walls  of yore (in my old rent house) on one hand, but now its looking kind of worn-out and granny-like against the peacock-blue walls in our new digs on the other hand, which made giving this hand-me-down a fresh new look a must-do.

So after some sanding and, as always, assistance from my “little helper”…

… and after about three or four coats of paint – as you can see one coat of paint wasn’t gonna git-er-done, as we like to say here in Texas…

… Voila!  A crisp, clean, just-like-new accent table with a face-lift!  Just beautiful!

Here it is standing next to the blue walls in the front living-room-turned-art-room.  Crisp white seems to pop out really nicely against the deep, yet bright hue of blue (I like to rhyme on occasion) in this room, so the table definitely complements the other surrounding white accents very well…  and speaking of the surrounding accents, a new post with pics of this room is long overdue and is soon to come.  As far as getting this wall of frames in far better order (which, by the way, has already evolved since the below picture was snapped) might not happen as soon as I’d like, but it’s definitely on the projects-to-do-list.

And here it is standing in the entryway in all of it’s Christmas glory:

 So even though my affinity for pea-green has manifested itself in other areas of the house, like here, I am doing my best to steer clear of making every room in the house look too mid-century and vintage inspired.  So in respect to that, this table, although vintage in design, still has its place in the not so vintage and more streamlined rooms of the house.

Psst: Just in case you are wondering or really concerned, those frames three pictures back have yet to be housed with photos and art of my choosing and liking… not to worry, they will be addressed soon enough.

Leave a Reply

