Entryway Organization – Shelf & Hooks

21 Nov

Getting hooks, a shelf, and a bench in place in this entryway has been on my to-do list for well over two years, and I am ecstatic to finally have it done! The entryway seems to be the drop zone/leave-all place that hadn’t been given any real thought as to where all the things that enter this house will get dumped placed… until now.  With the wall hooks up, jackets and scarves won’t land on the floor, reusable bags are in plain sight; with the bench in place, Olive’s backpack and endless stream of papers have a nice designated area to land.  This kind of organization brings me to happy :)

Before I get into all the how-I-did-it details, here’s the end result:

DSCF7725

:)

I started by adhering the wall “decal” that I ordered from Urban Outfitters.  I put decal in quotes because it really seemed more like wall paper, not the peel-and-stick image that comes to mind when you see the word decal.  The mural was in four strips that you place in a tub of warm water, activating the sticky backing, before sticking it to the wall.  But even though I found myself doing more work than I intended (this is diy after all) I am super pleased with the end result!

DSCF7674a

Next, I did some measuring and had the nice folks at Home Depot cut two pre-primed 1×2′s and one 1×3, along with a piece of raw pine, down to the length I needed.  Then Olive and got busy painting:

DSCF7671

DSCF7675

The paint color we used is Behr’s “Bavarian Forest”.

Then I turned my focus onto getting the shelf ready to hang:

entryway Collage 1

Next, using long finishing nails, I hammered the first 1×2 in place:

DSCF7681

Then the overhead shelf went up:

DSCF7682

Followed by the second 1×2:

DSCF7683

With an xacto knife, I carefully  sliced the small strip of overhang that was left, resulting in this:

DSCF7685

Looking pretty good so far :)

Next on the agenda was to get the wall hooks painted, distressed and poly’d.  I used stainless steel hooks from IKEA that I spray painted oil-rubbed-bronze; three iron hooks that I ordered separately from eBay, spray painted white, blue-green and yellow, followed by a coat of polyurethane; and one random hook that I bought from World Market left as-is:

entryway Collage 2

entryway Collage 3

While all the hooks were drying and curing up, I hammered the final 1×3 in place, caulked the seems, spackled over the nail holes to smooth everything out, and did the final paint touch-ups.  I also added three thin coats of polyurethane to the pine shelf, allowing each coat to fully dry in between:DSCF7701

DSCF7728

And that was pretty much it! The “bench” is actually a coffee table, but it serves us well until I  find or make the perfect bench I’m looking for.  I couldn’t be happier with the way the entryway feels so much more organized and uncluttered with this little addition :)

DSCF7725

DSCF7723

And of course, I can’t leave out the insperado behind this all.  Here are a some of my favorite entryways that I have pinned on Pinterest (click here for even more entryway eye candy):

IMG_2921

click pic for source

IMG_7156

click pic for source

IMG_3746

click pic for source

IMG_9838

click pic for source

THANKS FOR LOOKING!

One Response to “Entryway Organization – Shelf & Hooks”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spray Painted Vinyl Chair | Apples for Olive - March 21, 2014

    […] back in September when I wrapped up my entryway tree, I plunged into a little DIY project that went along with that update - I spray painted a vinyl […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

