When the Shoe Doesn’t Fit …

5 Aug

We have probably all found ourselves in one of those situations where we are looking (STARING) at something and think, “you know, something here just isn’t right.”  All of us have been there at some point or another.  And in all reality, that isn’t such a bad place to be when it comes to the creative process.  It most likely means that in the midst of bringing your creative vision into fruition, you are moving along course with your intuition and specific design preferences as your guide.  And that is a good place to be.  Course-correcting is all part of the design game, and I found myself dealing with a creative- curve-ball that was thrown my way last week.  After painting the accent wall in the green room and putting the furniture in place, I could instantly tell that something just wasn’t right. And here’s how I turned that situation around…

Adding all those beautiful and vibrant colors to the accent wall left the two adjacent walls looking just a little too meh by comparison, you can see what I mean in this pic:

a_2683a

The accent wall was meant to be the shining star in the room, but it was not meant to leave the other walls looking dull and lifeless.  It was also clear that the floral print couch and floral curtains could use some taming down as well. So I came up with a new plan – paint the adjacent walls and move the couch into the blue room. YES! … but what color, and what to do with the empty space where the sofa used to reside??? It didn’t take me long to decide on what color to paint the walls. I thought to use the same blue in the blue room, that way the two rooms would blend better and flow together.  But just to be certain, I first visited the Sherwin Williams color visualizer to see if that color would do the trick :

22222a

I loved it! And after actually painting the walls with that color:

col 1212

IMG_6648

IMG_7949

I love it even more.  It just makes sense.  It not only ties the two rooms together, but it also helps keep the accent wall grounded and blend more with the rest of the space.  I couldn’t be happier with the color choice :)

And as for the second question at hand, (what to do with the empty, now couchless space) well you’ll have to stay tuned for that… here’s a clue-in, it’ll be a pretty quick and easy DIY project that I have pinned on one of my Pinterest boards :)

Sometimes the road to getting a room “done” (are they ever really done?) isn’t a straight path, but that’s what makes this whole thing a fun and exciting journey … at least that’s what I keep telling myself :)

Oh, and you might also be wondering what I will be calling the green room now that it isn’t green anymore.  I’ve decided that here on forward, that room will now be “the office (fka the green room)”.  I like it, has a nice ring to it, ha!

THANKS FOR LOOKING!

4 Responses to “When the Shoe Doesn’t Fit …”

  1. rhiannonsinteriors August 6, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

    Love this!

  2. JoAnn August 6, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    it’s looking really good ! I love that color blue and looking forward to seeing what is going to come up next! keep up the good work!

  3. ruthy October 30, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

    SERENA!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! we need to catch up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

