Green Room Progress – Organization and Styling

23 Jul

Here’s where we left off in this room’s progress – just getting the accent wall all finished up :

IMG_7198a

You may or may not already know that this accent wall will now be the lovely backdrop to my computer desk and almost all of my art/craft supplies.  Already having all the necessary furniture on hand over in the adjoining blue room made achieving this setup pretty easy.  Here’s a most fabulous depiction of the intended furniture arrangement below:

IMG_0843a

And here is how it was looking after getting the desk and Expedit bookshelves in place, not without first replacing the pole-shaped legs (as seen three photos down) with much more attractive hairpin legs that I bought on eBay:

GetAttachment 2

IMG_1281a

Things are already starting to take shape in there, yay!

Next on the to-do list was to move the computer over, move the old desk out of the room, and add the floating shelf above:

IMG_9640a

Now some of you might think painting an accent wall like this would be the hardest part of this whole little reorganization project I have going on in here, but this next task is proving itself to be much, MUCH more challenging for me… and what task might that be, you ask? That would be the organization and styling of all my art/craft supplies onto these shelves (ALL THESE SHELVES!)  Where do I even begin?!  Here’s what I’m working with:

DSCF0719

GULP. That’s intimidating. Getting the furniture moved over was the easy part, but getting all that other stuff moved over and not looking like a jumbled mess is a whole different story. I want organized, not messy.  I want clean, not junky.  I want pretty, not wow-what-a-mess! Acheiving this part of the task is proving itself challenging, but I have faith in myself that I can get something set up that works on a highly functional, efficient and organized level along with looking super pretty and easy on the eyes.  This little trip to Target (and admittedly two similar ones to Home Goods and JCP) is helping me along in the right direction:

IMG_8225

Here’s how the room is taking shape so far:

IMG_4431a

I’m still working on getting things organized and styled up, but I’ve already added new curtains and updated the lighting (more details on that to follow).  It’s definitely coming along, and hopefully I’ll have things done by month’s end and can share “the big reveal” with y’all then!

3 Responses to “Green Room Progress – Organization and Styling”

  1. REGINA July 24, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    I LOVE IT!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When the Shoe Doesn’t Fit … | Apples for Olive - August 5, 2013

    […] was thrown my way last week.  After painting the accent wall in the green room and putting the furniture in place, I could instantly tell that something just wasn’t right. And here’s how I turned […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

