DIY: Hula Hoop Canopy

7 Jun

This is a very quick and inexpensive “princess” canopy that even a 4-year-old can make!  This was actually a project that I did last year before I started blogging, but took pictures knowing that I would one day blog about it… anyway, kind of a side-note there, but here’s what it looked like when it was all said and done:

Cute, isn’t it!  This was something that I came up with in an attempt to get Olive to sleep in her bed after about a three-month long battle of resistance after our move into the new house. 

Materials I used for this project:

A hula hoop

Thrifted curtain panels (2) and valance

2 inch wide ribbon

Sewing needle and thread

And a ceiling hook

First, we popped open the hula hoop.  This was one of those hula hoops that easily snaps open so you can put water in it  (at first I thought I was going to have to cut the hula hoop in order to feed it through the curtain tab, but to my astonishment, they actually make hoola hoops that snap open so you can put water or beads (or whatever) in them!)

Next, Olive fed the hula hoop through the tabs on the curtain panels and the valance:

I had these thrifted curtains stashed away and thought there was four panels in the set, but realized there was only two when I pulled them out.  I really would have liked more panels so the canopy would be fuller and hang around all three sides of the bed, but it wasn’t something that bothered me enough to hold off on getting this quick, little project done, so we just used what we had (two panels).  But if I were to do this project again, I would definitely use at least four panels instead of just two.

While Olive was doing that, I got busy mounting the ceiling hook in place.

Next, I snapped the hula hoop closed and evenly distributed the weight of the curtains and valance so that the hula hoop wouldn’t tilt and/or look lop-sided.  Then, after measuring three strips of ribbon all the same length (about three feet each), I sewed one end of each piece of ribbon around the hula hoop (sorry no pic, but I’m sure you get the gist) evenly spaced apart on the hula hoop (think triangularly spaced apart), and brought the other ends of the ribbon together in order for it to easily hang on the ceiling hook:

Easy as pie!  Here’s what it looks like from the side:

And one more time from the front:

And a gratuitous photo of a hula hooping happy child:

HA!  Love it!

3 Responses to “DIY: Hula Hoop Canopy”

  1. michelleml28@yahoo.com August 29, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    I have the same curtains from when we were stationed in Germany. I wasn’t sure what to do with them this will be perfect thanks for sharing

    Michelle

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Olive’s Bedroom Progress – Shelfy Business « Apples for Olive - July 27, 2011

    [...] bed, that is an interim make-shift canopy that I whipped up real quick after removing the hula hoop canopy that I made for her last year.  (New canopy idea is in the [...]

  2. Tissue Paper Flower Pom-Pom for Above Olive’s Bed « Apples for Olive - August 21, 2012

    [...] after finding some balance with the lanterns, using paper ribbon and the existing hook from the hula hoop canopy the was previously hanging over her [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

